Historic News
The news sources on this page provide retrospective coverage, allowing you to look back in history. Most do not include full-text. To find full-text of a particular source, use the Find a Specific Journal search tool.
For articles available only in microfilm, SUNY Oswego students, faculty and staff may request a free scanning service. Those articles the library does not own may be requested via Interlibrary Loan.
Historic News Databases
- New York Times Article Archives, 1851-presentOnline index. To get full-text from Penfield, check the link Find a Specific Journal. SUNY Oswego students, faculty, and staff may request free copy service for those articles available only in microfilm.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new windowOnline index and text from 1984-present; print index from 1968-1993 in Reference Storage, Lower Level; microfilm of text available from 1968 - 2003.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearchable database that allows you to view select historic newspaper pages from 1836 - 1922. and find information about newspapers from 1690 to the present.
Historic News - Multimedia Sources
- American Rhetoric: Online Speech BankFull-text transcripts, video segments.
Historic News - Print Sources
| New York Times Index, Reference Room, 1st Floor, 1851- 2004 |
| Print subject index to articles in the newspaper of record. (Online index and text from 1980-present in National Newspapers Premier; microfilm available from 1857 - present.) |
| The (London) Times Index (title varies), Reference Storage - Ask at Research Help Desk, 1790 - 1998 |
| Index to the Times of London, England. (microfilm available from 1785 - 1999.) |