Login Procedure
To begin your research using the Penfield Library subscription resources, first login on the below page:
https://login.ezproxy.oswego.edu/login
After logging in, return to this CAPA research guide to access the selected database resources that are available for CAPA students.
Research Staters - General
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Access viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles. Great for current issues research.
Humanities
Film (see also Theatre below)
- EFG European Film GatewayQuick access to numerous film historical documents as preserved in European film archives and cinémathèques: photos, posters, programmes, periodicals, censorship documents, rare feature and documentary films, newsreels and other materials.
- eFilm Site.orgOffers a variety of commentary, including reviews, commentary on Oscar winning films, and several "greatest" lists.
- Thanhouser Films OnlineA collection of silent films from 1910 - 1917. The Image Gallery may also be of interest, and be sure to check out the home page, where you can find a list of resources for learning more about silent films and preservation.
History
Literature
Theatre
- Canadian Theatre EncyclopediaEntries are generally brief, ranging from a few paragraphs to a few hundred words.
- Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion (3 v.), 2005Also available in paper copy: Ref GT507 .E53 2005
- Fashion: Past & PresentLinks to images of clothing, hair, and jewelry.
- Historic ClothingThe main page focuses on Victorian Clothing, but look for the links to fashion of the 1920s, and other eras.
- The Index of American DesignPart of the National Gallery of Art
- McCoy's Brief Guide to Internet Resources in Theatre and Performance StudiesAnnotated, well organized by topics such as "actors and acting," "plays and playwrights," "regional interest," "finding primary materials," "electronic texts and journals," etc.
- MilieuxThe Costume Site
A large collection of websites related to theatrical costumes. Sections for Armor, Wigs, Shoes, etc. - Textile MuseumThe Textile Museum expands public knowledge and appreciation – locally, nationally and internationally – of the artistic merits and cultural importance of the world’s textiles.
- theatrecrafts.comA great site for "practical information and advice about technical theatre techniques for theatre folk at any level."
Social Sciences
Anthropology
Economics
- Economics A - ZFrom the Economist.com An online Economics dictionary.
Political Sciences
- The World FactbookContains current information and maps from the CIA about countries throughout the world.
Psychology
Sociology
Sciences
Plan Your Research
Not sure how long it will take you to complete an assignment? Want to make sure that you're not stuck at the last minute?
The Assignment Calculator can help you plan your work. Don't forget to email yourself the schedule, or print it - both options are at the bottom of the page.