Need help with your topic? Check out the Research Starters page! Not sure where to start? Ask a Librarian with our online chat or come to the Research Help Desk.
Databases for English Literature Research
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse this search engine to find scholarly works, including many online journals. You can set your preferences to link to Penfield's many databases in this way: 1) choose settings from menu in upper left corner; 2) click library links in the left navigation bar and type 'SUNY Oswego' in box; 3) select the link provided; 4) click 'save.'
- Humanities Source This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles, interviews, obituaries, book reviews, and original works of fiction, drama, and poetry. Also included are reviews of ballets, dance, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas, and more.
Covers: 1928-1941 (citations only); 1942 - present (citations & full text) - JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides access to more than 12 million academic journal articles, books, images, and primary sources in 75 disciplines. In most cases, full text of the journal is available from the first issue to date. Arts & Sciences I-XV, Business IV, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Jewish Studies, Language & Literature, Life Sciences, Lives of Literature, Public Health, Security Studies, Sustainability, Global Plants, 19th Century Pamphlets, Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa, World Heritage Sites: Africa.
NOTE: Artstor has been combined with JSTOR. As of August 1, 2024, images from Artstor are accessible through JSTOR. - MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new windowLiterary criticism, languages, linguistics, film, and folklore from over 4,000 journals, books and dissertations published worldwide.
Covers: 1926 - present - Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowOver 7500 articles from core African American reference sources; also including primary source documents, images, maps, timelines, and biographies.
Special Use Databases
- LitFinder This link opens in a new windowFull-text of thousands of poems, essays, stories, and speeches. Also includes citations for poems, biographies, glossaries, illustrations, and work explanations.
- Children's Literature Comprehensive Database This link opens in a new windowAn index of children's literature, ranging from the earliest baby board books to novels and nonfiction for young adults. Includes detailed descriptions and reviews, including author/title links, lesson plans and teaching guides
