Resource Guides: English Research Guide: Research Starters

Quick Links

Literature Resource Center

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Biographical and selected critical coverage of the most studied authors & works.

Focused on a certain work or author but not sure what to write about? Try the Literature Resource Center's Topic Finder tool. Just type in the name of a work or an author and you'll see some main ideas and themes that have been written about.

Here's a sample showing the search results for the author J.R.R. Tolkien.

The resources below are good for finding background info on your topic and figuring out where to start.

Online Encyclopedias and Guides

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
Publication Date: 2004
Includes 350 essays encompassing the range and depth of American literary history from the 1600s to the present day. The Encyclopedia includes essays on poets, playwrights, essayists, and novelists, as well as major works and essays on literary movements, periods, and themes.

Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature
Publication Date: 2006
Online resource
Provides coverage of the history of literature in the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland in the major literary languages (Anglo-Saxon, English, Welsh, Scots, Irish, and Latin). Includes accounts of individual authors and histories of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions.

Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Online resource
Biographical and selected critical coverage of the most studied authors & works.

Print Encyclopedias and Guides

The library also has many useful print encyclopedias and guides in the P - PT reference section on the first floor (call number starts with "Ref") or in the general collection on the 3rd floor. Many of the encyclopedias are dedicated to a literary movement, genre, ethnicity, or specific author. Below are some examples of major titles.

If you're having trouble finding any of these, please feel free to ask at the Research Help desk!

The Beat Generation

Black Literature Criticism

Encyclopedia of Contemporary LGBTQ Literature of the United States

Critical Survey of Shakespeare's Plays

Critical Survey of Short Fiction

Critical Survey of Long Fiction

Latino and Latina Writers

The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Multiethnic American Literature

Encyclopedia of Beasts and Monsters in Myth, Legend and Folklore

Research Starters

We all use Wikipedia, but if you want something authoritative and reliable, Britannica® Academic is a great option. Like all encyclopedias, this source is a good way to find background information on a topic.

Encyclopedia Britannica - Academic This link opens in a new window
If the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Britannica Academic.

Opposing Viewpoints is a great source for information about current events, especially controversial ones. They provide a wide variety of sources on each topic - everything from opinion essays to scholarly articles. We recommend this source when you're having difficulty coming up with a topic. It's also a good tool if you already have an idea, but aren't sure what direction to take.

Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
If the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Opposing Viewpoints.

This source is very similar to Opposing Viewpoints in Context - it's a good place to look for information on controversial issues.

Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
If the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Points of View Reference Center.

Plan Your Research

Not sure how long it will take you to complete an assignment? Want to make sure that you're not stuck at the last minute?

The Assignment Calculator can help you plan your work. Don't forget to email yourself the schedule, or print it - both options are at the bottom of the page.