Good place to start your search for articles.
A good place to begin your search for scholarly articles is by using the main search engine on the library's home page. It is labeled Find Research Materials. This search engine enables you to search most of the library's databases at one time. Be sure to use the drop down menu and select the Articles only option if you want to limit your search to just articles.
Find Journal Articles - Specialized Databases
- Applied Science & Technology Source, 1965 - present This link opens in a new windowSearch scholarly journals and professional literature about the atmospheric sciences, chemistry, computer science, engineering, geology, physics, and more.
Covers: 1965 - present
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business. (use buttons at top of page to go to journals or do a search)
- The SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data SystemThe ADS provides access to more than 12.7 million records covering publications in Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics, and the arXiv e-prints. Abstracts and full-text of major astronomy and physics publications are searchable.
- ArXiv This link opens in a new windowAn open access archive of e-prints of scientific papers in qualitative biology, physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative finance and statistics.
- Physical Review Online Archive (PROLA) This link opens in a new windowAn archive of journal literature from the American Physical Society.
Covers: 1893 - 4 years ago
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse this search engine to find scholarly works, including many online journals. You can set your preferences to link to Penfield's many databases in this way: 1) choose settings from menu in upper left corner; 2) click library links in the left navigation bar and type 'SUNY Oswego' in box; 3) select the link provided; 4) click 'save.'
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more. Full-text for over 6,100 titles (5,100 peer-reviewed); indexing and abstracting for 10,600 titles; complete historical coverage and citation searching for select titles.
Covers: Varies by journal title (many 1975 - present)
- Research Library This link opens in a new windowSearch over 2,700 periodicals for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
Searching and Retrieval Tips
Tips when searching for articles in our databases including the Find Research Materials search engine:
- Use search operators AND & OR to build search strategy.
- Use OR when you want to find articles that contain one or the other of the terms: Coupled Springs OR Couple Pendulums.
- Use AND when you want to find articles that contain all of the terms: Seismic Waves AND Rocks.
- Look at subject headings for more search term ideas
- Use the truncation character * for searching multiple spellings of a word: Collision* searches both Collision and Collisions.
- Use “ “ to search exact phrases: “Coupled Springs”
- Use drop down menus to limit your search to subject headings. This can make your results more precise.
- If the article in not available in the library or online, use Interlibrary Loan to get it from another library.