Skip to main content

Library Resources for Blackboard

How do I find article links?

First, you'll need to find the article! (If you need help with that, let us know.) 

Next, you need to find the "permalink." Database vendors use different names for this - stable URL, static URL, persistent link, etc. 

Since each database does this differently, we've provided instructions for a few popular vendors. If you don't see the database / database vendor you're looking for, let us know and we'll add instructions!

EBSCOHost includes:

  • The search box on the Library homepage (EDS)
  • ERIC
  • MLA International Bibliography
  • PsycInfo
  • Many more...

To find the permalink:

  1. Click on Permalink on the right hand side of the screen
  2. Copy the URL that appears above the article title

Screenshot of the Ebsco search interface, with permalink sections marked

JSTOR is a bit tricky - the URL they give you won't work off campus. Here's what you need to do:

  1. Find the article and copy the Stable URL

    A screenshot of a JSTOR article page, with an arrow pointing to the stable URL

  2. Add .ezproxy.oswego.edu:2048 after .org. Here's an example using the article in our screenshot:

    Original URL: http://www.jstor.org/stable/30117570

    Modified URL: http://www.jstor.org.ezproxy.oswego.edu:2048/stable/30117570

ProQuest includes:

  • ABI/Inform
  • GeoRef
  • Meteorological & Geoastrophysical Abstracts‎
  • Many more...

To find the permalink:

  1. Click on the Abstract/Details tab above the article title
  2. Scroll down until you see the Document URL, and copy it

Screenshot of the ProQuest search interface, with document URL marked

How do I add these article links to Blackboard?

  1. Once you've copied your link, head to Blackboard
  2. In Blackboard, head to Build Content > Web Link

    A screenshot of Blackboard, with the Build Content menu open, and 'Web Link' highlighted

  3. Enter some information about the article (ex. title and last name of author) in the Name field, and paste the URL in the URL field
  4. Click Submit - you're done!
Ask a Librarian