Why link to a journal?
Generally, folks prefer to link to articles, but here are a few ways you can use journals in your courses:
- Ask your students to gather research from a particular journal (or journals) that are impactful / important in your discipline.
- Have students review key journals to get a better idea of the writing style / requirements of the discipline.
- Create an assignment where students assess one issue from different viewpoints, using journals from multiple disciplines.
- Need to limit the scope of a research assignment? Choose a particular issue of a journal and ask students to choose their topic from that issue.
Why use the library's journal links?
- Some journals may have public websites, but the library links will give you greater coverage. For example, you can't access a 2001 article from Nature's website without paying for it. However, the library's online coverage goes back to 1990.
- The linking method we describe below actually provides you with a link to all database coverage for a specific journal, meaning:
- You (and your students) can pick the best database dependent on the date range you're looking for.
- If a database is down, you can see which other databases provide access.
How do I find journal links?
- From the library homepage, go to Journal / Newspaper Titles
- Enter the name of the journal and hit Enter (or click the magnifying glass icon)
- If your journal is in the search results, click the journal title
- Click Permalink / URL
- Click Copy the permalink to clipboard!
How do I add journal links to Blackboard?
- Once you've copied your link, head to Blackboard
- In Blackboard, head to Build Content > Web Link
- Enter the journal title in the Name field, and paste the URL in the URL field
- Click Submit - you're done!