Find / share preprints
The 2022 Nelson Memo directs that federally funded research should be made available to the public. One way that many authors achieve this is by sharing preprints of their articles--completed drafts that have not yet undergone peer review.
Some places to find preprint articles include:
- ArXiv This link opens in a new windowAn open access archive of e-prints of scientific papers in qualitative biology, physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative finance and statistics.
- SSRN Engineering Research NetworkOpen access preprint server containing book chapters, PhD dissertations, course and teaching materials, presentations, posters, and more.
- TechRxivTechRxiv is an open, moderated preprint server for unpublished research in engineering, computer science, and related technology.
- OSF PreprintsSearch preprints in many disciplines at once by default, or browse by subject area.
- Preprints.orgA multidiscipline platform providing preprint service dedicated to making early versions of research outputs permanently available and citable.
Find Journal Articles - Specialized Databases
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text coverage of ACM (Association of Computing Machinery) periodicals and transactions. A few conference proceedings are also available in full-text. Includes citations to related articles in computing and information technology. Browse or search the contents of ACM publications. Enter your search in the search box near the top of the screen or click 'Advanced Search.'
Covers: 1945 - present (citations & full text)
- IEEE AccessSearch open-access journal articles from IEEE's publications. To limit to results you can access, use the "Open Access Only" option on the left of your results screen.
- Applied Science & Technology Source, 1965 - present This link opens in a new windowSearch scholarly journals and professional literature about the atmospheric sciences, chemistry, computer science, engineering, geology, physics, and more.
Covers: 1965 - present
- U.S. Department of Energy Office of Scientific and Technical InformationOSTI.GOV is the primary search tool for Department of Energy (DOE) funded science, technology, and engineering research and development (R&D) results and the organizational hub for information about the DOE Office of Scientific and Technical Information (OSTI). It includes technical reports, citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, patents and patent applications, multimedia, software, and data information funded by the U.S. Department of Energy from the 1940s to today.
Find Journal Articles - Key Databases
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new windowUse this search engine to find scholarly works, including many online journals. You can set your preferences to link to Penfield's many databases in this way: 1) choose settings from menu in upper left corner; 2) click library links in the left navigation bar and type 'SUNY Oswego' in box; 3) select the link provided; 4) click 'save.'
- Computer Science Database This link opens in a new windowContains articles from the field of computer science.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowA collection of journals and other publications covering life sciences, health sciences, physical sciences and engineering as well as social sciences, humanities and business. (use buttons at top of page to go to journals or do a search)
- ArXiv This link opens in a new windowAn open access archive of e-prints of scientific papers in qualitative biology, physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative finance and statistics.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary scholarly collection offers information in nearly every area of academic study, including: sciences, social sciences, arts & literature, ethnic studies, and many more. Full-text for over 6,100 titles (5,100 peer-reviewed); indexing and abstracting for 10,600 titles; complete historical coverage and citation searching for select titles.
Covers: Varies by journal title (many 1975 - present) - Research Library This link opens in a new windowSearch over 2,700 periodicals for information on a broad range of general reference subjects including arts, business, humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.
- Omnifile Full-Text Select (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of almost 2000 periodical publications, including coverage of the sciences, humanities, education & other social sciences, business and information science.
