The resources on this page are intended to help you plan your research, identify and refine your topic, build your keyword vocabulary, and find general sources. Explore the other pages on this guide for help locating specific sources for your research.
We all use Wikipedia, but if you want something authoritative and reliable, Britannica® Academic is a great option. Like all encyclopedias, this source is a good way to find background information on a topic.
- Encyclopedia Britannica - Academic This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Britannica Academic.
CQ Researcher is a great source for information about current events and controversies. However, it also has some useful historical information, usually about political events (ex. U.S.-Iran relations). We recommend this source when you're having difficulty coming up with a topic. It's also a good tool if you already have an idea, but aren't sure what direction to take.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access CQ Researcher.
- Opposing Viewpoints In Context (Gale) This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Opposing Viewpoints.
This source is very similar to Opposing Viewpoints in Context - it's a good place to look for information on controversial issues.
- Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new windowIf the search widget above isn't working, you can click here to access Points of View Reference Center.
Selected Theatre & Drama Reference Sources
- The Oxford Companion to American Theatre, 2004Also available in print: Ref PN2220 .B6 2004
- Broadway Musicals, 1943-2004ML102 .M88 S74 2006
- Encyclopedia of Asian TheatreRef PN2860 .E53 2007
- The Columbia Encyclopedia of Modern DramaPN1861 .C65 2007
- Historical Dictionary of African American TheaterRef PN2270 .A35 H53 2009
- The Cambridge Guide to American TheatrePN2221 .C35 2007
- The Cambridge History of British Theatre since 1895PN2581 .C36 2004
- International Dictionary of Theatre LanguageRef PN2035 .I5 1984
- The Cambridge Guide to TheatreRef PN2035 .C27 1995
Selected Dictionaries and Handbooks
- Theatre Backstage from A to ZRef PN2091 .M3 L68 1999
- A Glossary of Literary TermsPN41 .A184 2005b
Selected Biographical/Playwright/Literature Reference Sources
- Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new windowBiographical and selected critical coverage of the most studied authors & works.
- ARTstor This link opens in a new windowContains over 1.6 million digital images, including architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, and design from many time periods and cultures.
- Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion (3 v.), 2005Also available in paper copy: GT507 .E53 2005
- Men's FashionGT1710 .P43 1996
- A Survey of Historic CostumeGT580 .T67 2015
- Historic Costume for the StagePN2067 .B3
- Dress and Popular CultureGT596 .D74 1991
- The Metropolitan Museum of ArtSelect a Channel like 'The Costume Channel' or 'The Concerts and Performances Channel' to find videos of performances and interviews such as: Peony Pavilion (http://www.metmuseum.org/peonypavilion).
Plan Your Research
Not sure how long it will take you to complete an assignment? Want to make sure that you're not stuck at the last minute?
The Assignment Calculator can help you plan your work. Create an account to receive email alerts to keep you on schedule!