Full Courses
SUNY has an agreement with Lumen Learning and Carnegie Mellon's Open Learning Initiative; they are currently providing access to materials on the Lumen platforms at no cost to students or faculty.
Here are Lumen's platforms:
- CandelaCandela is the most basic platform - it provides online access to the text, without any additional bells or whistles.
- Online Homework ManagerOHM is a digital homework system primarily used in math and related disciplines (ex. statistics).
- WaymakerWaymaker includes personalized learning tools as well as learning analytics to help you see where students are succeeding or struggling. See John Kane's talk about Waymaker, Going Beyond Adaptive: Online Courses and Personalized Learning Courseware.
- Online Learning Initiative (OLI)Lumen has partnered with Carnegie Mellon to provide content using the OLI platform. Like Waymaker, OLI provides opportunities for personalized learning as well as helpful learning analytics.
Textbook Collections
- Open Textbook LibraryThe Open Textbook Library provides a growing catalog of free, peer-reviewed, and openly-licensed textbooks, from a variety of sources. This site also includes reviews from faculty members who have adopted these materials.
- Directory of Open Access BooksDOAB has indexed over 27,000 peer-reviewed books.
- OpenStax CollegeOpen source textbooks that are written by professional content developers who are experts in their fields and undergo a rigorous peer review process. All textbooks meet standard scope and sequence requirements.
- BC Campus OpenEdBC Campus has peer-reviewed open texts in almost every discipline, including student success.
Open Courseware
Open courseware sites offer educators access to a wide variety of course materials including, but not limited to, syllabi, reading lists, lecture notes, assignments, and exams.
- MIT Open CoursewareMassachusetts Institute of Technology is one of the forerunners in open courseware, making "virtually all MIT course content" available online for public access.
- Open Course LibraryThe Open Course Library (OCL) is a collection of shareable course materials, including syllabi, course activities, readings, and assessments designed by teams of college faculty, instructional designers, librarians, and other experts.
- Saylor AcademySaylor Academy is a nonprofit organization that offers nearly 100 full-length, free and open courses at the college and professional levels.
Other Types of Open Resources
- OER CommonsOER Commons helps educators, students, and lifelong learners avoid time-consuming searches and find exactly the right materials. With a single point of access from which they can search, browse, and evaluate resources in OER Commons’ growing collection of over 50,000 high-quality OER everyone can more efficiently find what they need.
- MERLOTMERLOT is a curated collection of free and open online teaching, learning, and faculty development services contributed and used by an international education community. The MERLOT Collection is made up of over 40,000 materials in 19 different material type categories.
Start here!
OASIS is a new search tool that was created at SUNY Geneseo. It searches over 52 sources for open content - it's a great place to start your search!
This guide is licensed under a